Zucchini Apple Muffins (Vegan)

Oh hey, I’m back!

IMG_2447

What better way to spend a rainy Veteran’s Day holiday than to fill the kitchen with the smell of apples baking, stock up for breakfast/snacks for the week and snuggle away from the cold?

IMG_2418

IMG_2433

IMG_2436

I wasn’t intending on blogging this, mainly because I was planning on following Dana’s muffin recipe and only playing around with the flavours (zucchini instead of carrots). I was also tempted with Ella’s version that included a delicious oat crumble on top.

But of course, as per usual, I didn’t have all of the ingredients for either of these recipes! I usually shy away from improvising with baked goods (much more of a novice with baking than with cooking), but my vision of a warm morning with coffee and muffins was too hard to resist.

So I stuck mostly with Dana’s recipe but upped the fruit proportions and played around with the sweeteners, liquids, and spices to make sure that I’d get the right tastes and consistency. The result was spectacular:

IMG_2452

These muffins are moist inside, crisper on top, and communicate subtle tones that hint at zuccchini, apple, maple syrup and cinnamon. It was hard not to eat them all right away- they misted up my camera when I tried to get a close up and so how I could I resist…?

IMG_2439
INGREDIENTS:
Makes 12 muffins.

  • Flax egg (1.5 tbsp ground flax seed, 3 tbsp water)
  • 3/8 cup maple syrup (Or 1/4 cup plus another splash!)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1.5 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup zucchini, grated (~3 mini zuchs)
  • 1 cup apples, grated (~ 2 small ones)
  • 2/3 cup oats
  • 1.5 cup all purpose flour

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Mix ground flax seed with water and set aside for a few minutes. After 5-10 minutes, mixture should have egg-yolk type consistency.
  2. Preheat oven to 375 F.
  3. Add flax egg into mixing bowl and stir in wet ingredients in above order, from the maple syrup to almond milk.
  4. Add in spices and grated apple and zucchini.
  5. Mix in oats and flour slowly, adding in 1/3 of a cup at a time and folding it into batter.
  6. Dole out batter into a greased muffin pan and bake for 25 minutes until edges are brown and pulling away from the pan.
  7. Remove and allow to cool (or not, and devour them immediately).

They store well too- reheat batches in subsequent days and top them off with a little sliver of butter!

IMG_2449

3 thoughts on “Zucchini Apple Muffins (Vegan)

Leave a comment